• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

kbeeson1

Jan 21, 2015
Country
clock 1.jpg clock 2.jpg

I absolutely love this clock but I cannot find any information on it. I am new to antique clocks and any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Kim

John Hubby

Senior Administrator Emeritus
Staff member
NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Life Member
Sep 7, 2000
The Woodlands, TX
Country
Region
I absolutely love this clock but I cannot find any information on it. I am new to antique clocks and any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you, Kim
Kim, welcome to the NAWCC Message Board! Thanks for posting your inquiry and the clock photos. Chas. Frodsham was an 18th century clockmaker and his successors are the longest continuously trading firm of chronometer manufacturers in the world. See This History for more information.

Do you have a photo of the back and sides of the movement? Those can be taken by opening the side and back doors of the case. From the photos you posted it appears this is a single train time-only clock that has a balance wheel escapement. It would likely have been made in the 20th century and possibly as late as after WWII. There may be markings on the movement that could point to more accurate dating, but we will need to see those before we can make further comments.

kbeeson1

Jan 21, 2015
Country
Kim, welcome to the NAWCC Message Board! Thanks for posting your inquiry and the clock photos. Chas. Frodsham was an 18th century clockmaker and his successors are the longest continuously trading firm of chronometer manufacturers in the world. See This History for more information.