Help Ansonia Open Escapement Assembly

clarke

Oct 25, 2009
Hermosa Beach, CA
Country
Hello,

I’m an amateur who’s I’ve taken apart and reassembled a number of Ansonia movements. But never an open escapement movement.

I have an “Eton” and a “Boston” that I got in Shanghai in the early 2000’s. They’ve alway been clean and run well. But now there’s a problem.

I took the movement out of the Eaton to oil it as hasn’t been done in many years. Letting down the mainsprings, the time side spring disengaged from the anchor.

So now I assume I have to take the movement apart, which I said, I haven’t done on an open escapement before.

So the question is:

Is there any particular order for putting wheels and gears in the reassembly. I am familiar with a common Ansonia, but not this one. What should I pay attention to with the open escapement movement?

I have often receiveded good advice here so thank you in advance.

c.

John P

NAWCC Member
Sep 17, 2010
North Carolina
Country
Region
The mainspring may be broken. You might try putting a small screwdriver into the smaller coils of the spring and gently pry up while winding the key.
You might get lucky but if not it will have to be taken apart to re bend the center coil tighter.
I think they are easier to reassemble than the standard ansonia arch top movement because the escape wheel and verge goes in after the plates are together. Take care working the escape wheel in and out .
The strike side is set up the same.

good luck

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Don't put the pallets into a cleaning agent or an ultrasonic. Just use Dawn dish washing soap on them. Other than that, things will be pretty standard. The escape wheel and pallets go in toward the end - it will make sense as you take it apart.

R. Croswell

Apr 4, 2006
Trappe, Md.
www.greenfieldclockshop.com
Country
Region