An aluminium front on a US Clock Co iron

Essex ranger

Jul 9, 2020
Country
I recently bought this clock on eBay as a project to refurbish while I am in lockdown ( due to my age). The movement is original (US Clock Co 8 day alarm striking on a bell) but to my surprise, the case is made of aluminium . It is clearly a copy of the original iron case but who in their right mind would bother to do an elaborate and large casting job for something like this? Has anyone come across cases like this before. If so, do you know when they were made and why? I imagine it wasn’t done by Henry Terhune and Son whose clock paper is clearly visible on the wooden back casing. ( I’m new to the NAWCC- how do I add my photos?)

wow

NAWCC Member
Jun 24, 2008
Pineville, La. (central La.)
Country
Region
At the bottom of your post go to tools. Then edit. Then to from pc. Find photos and choose them. Then do save changes.

Essex ranger

Jul 9, 2020
Country
Is it because I’m on an iPad that the pictures won’t download? I have tried 3 times now but no pictures have appeared. ( Thanks for the advice everyone).

Steven Thornberry

User Administrator
Staff member
NAWCC Member
Jan 15, 2004
Here and there
Country
Although I am not familiar with an IPad, ifyou can see a From PC button below the text box, you should be able to click on that to upload pictures stored on your device.

Essex ranger

Jul 9, 2020
Country
The last picture is not one of mine but I can’t delete it - sorry. So pleased to get the pictures on at last

Dave T

NAWCC Member
Dec 8, 2011
NC
Country
Region
Except for the finish on the case looks like a pretty nice clock to me. You could probably paint it!
Here's a little information on it. Yours looks legitimate to me.
The U.S. Clock co

Jim Hartog

NAWCC Member
Jan 6, 2010
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Hello Essex ranger,