American Waltham, Gents watch, markings and info help

RyanBee

Oct 27, 2016
Country
Hi,

Complete watch newbie here so forgive me if I've not listed this in the right area.

I've had this watch for a few years, given to me by my grandfather over 20 years ago. I'm not sure how long he had it, he was a collector though. I got myself a cheap magnifier to identify some of the markings on the watch.

So far I know it's an 18 karat gold dial key wind watch, mostly from what my Granddad had written on the tag!

I've attached pics of the case serial number and works serial number, I was expecting these to be different? I'd like to find out as much info from the markings etc as I can if anyone can help?

Should say its all in working order, seems to keep time perfectly whenever I've wound it up.

thank you

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]

Attachments

RON in PA

NAWCC Member
May 18, 2005
S.E. PA
Country
Region
Welcome to the Message Board.

You have left out the most important photo that we need for ID, a sharp close-up of the movement, all of the movement.

topspin

Dec 14, 2014
Country
Region
As a fellow Waltham collector I'll agree with Richie, it's nice whatever it is, but it's not a Waltham. If it was a Waltham it would say so on the movement, and (usually) on the dial.

I have no idea who or what "AW" might have been.

Sizings might also be useful, e.g. overall diameter in mm excluding the bow?

MartyR

Dec 16, 2008
UK
Country
Hello Ryan and welcome to the board :)

What you have is an English lever 3/4 plate watch in an English 18 carat gold case made in 1885 by Amelia Wickes and Frederick Trahern of Coventry. That last information is gleaned from the hallmarks in the first photo in your later post.

The watch is keywind and keyset, and the balance wheel (probably made of gold) is uncut and uncompensated, and this would typically suggest an earlier date than 1885, but the very conservative English market certainly makes that date possible ... or it may be a recase.