• The Bulletins and Marts are again available online. The network connectivity problem has been fixed. Thank you all very much for your patience.

Help [Amateur] Repairing a Junghans W.278 Mainspring Axle

Sir_McMuffinman

New User
Aug 4, 2021
Country
Greetings all. I am a complete amateur, and primarily here in search of help since I can't find any other good sources. Per the tips thread, we are located in Texas (I'll address the other talking points throughout this post). I want to be up front and apologize for what I'm sure will be innaccurate terminology and/or understanding of clock mechanisms. I did my due diligence by checking out the terminology thread, but I don't think the parts I'm asking about are directly identified.

I'm requesting assistance/knowledge/advice with a Junghans W.278 mantle clock. Based on the stamp on the back, I believe it was made in June 1952. There's also a stamp that says "187/35 83", which based on this post tells me that the BPM is 187 with a 35-tooth escape wheel and 83-mm long pendulum [See Figures 1thru 4].

This clock was gifted to my grandfather's family in 1953, and has been in the family ever since. Some of the following details are a bit foggy... Somewhat recently (3-6 months ago, as far as I'm aware), the clock started malfunctioning. Despite the many years of my life I've spent visiting my grandparents, I cannot remember exactly how often it would chime- I believe it told the time every hour and rang once every half-hour. Well, from what I was told, the clock started malfunctioning by ringing every quarter hour. From what my grandparents told me, I wasn't able to determine if this was the "single chime" ring, or the "telling the time" ring.