Age check on 400 day clock

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by lreyno, Jul 28, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. lreyno

lreyno Registered User

Jan 15, 2017
    Male
    Cumbria
    Country Flag:
    Hi everyone I am just trying to get this clock working for my mother in law and wondered what it’s age was, looking on the internet it says around 1902. But looking in my horolovar 400 day repair book the holes in the back plate look to be in slightly different places, most of them look correct but at least one doesn’t match, it also says to use a .0035” spring, is that correct, any information will be greateful as I am only a novice at these clocks and I know they are difficult to work on.

Thanks Lee

362A70FE-8F3B-4DC3-850E-5E8A3028B57D.jpeg 1956AC9E-62ED-4965-A8ED-C339F73F74D5.jpeg

2. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #2 KurtinSA, Jul 28, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2019
    Do you have a picture of the pendulum? Also, what type of escapement does it have - pin pallet? Does it have lantern pinions?

I think this is a clock made by Huber for Badische. Date should be 1911-1914 per notes by John Hubby. Plate 1643 and 0.0035" does seem to be the right spring.

Same clock:

ID Badische

If it is #1643, then maybe the date is more in the 1920s:

ID a 400 day clock

Sure seems like someone went to town on bushings...probably was overkill unless it was hammered.

Kurt

3. lreyno

lreyno Registered User

Jan 15, 2017
    Male
    Cumbria
    Country Flag: