Advice

Kent Burke

Sep 22, 2020
I'm a newbie to the horological field, so please excuse my ignorance with proper terminology {which is important, i understand} etc. I have an introductory DVD course that shows me the basics, but I've run into a snag due to every watch looking different to me. So here goes: I am currently disassembling and cleaning a 16 size Elgin pocket watch but have run into problems with the new mainspring installation. According to a previous thread I posted, someone did tell me that I bought the right replacement spring, so I've discounted that as a possible error on my part. I installed the new mainspring by hand but can't get the cap of the barrel to snap back in place securely. I can only assume that perhaps I've inadvertently kinked it somehow upon installation. I've since taken it out and it doesn't {to my untrained eye at least} appear to be damaged in any way. I'm coming to the conclusion that I'm going have to purchase a mainspring winder to do it properly {and maybe even a new mainspring} but I have no idea what to get. I'm on social security so my funds are limited and I certainly can't afford some fancy set with a myriad of sizes to choose from. I'm starting to think that this is the wrong hobby cause of the cost associated with some of the tools, however I refuse to give up so easily. I acquired a lot of the basic tools needed when I lived in a city where I could attend meetings of fellow enthusiasts but now I'm in an area that seems to devoid of that kind of help - hence I'm pretty much on my own now except for this forum. To get to the point, I'm willing to buy an inexpensive winder, but as is usual with everything these days, there is entirely too much information/options out there to make an uneducated decision on what to consider getting. This post is quite lengthy, but I wanted to explain myself as some of you may have been in a similar situation and wouldn't mind offering some advise.

roughbarked

Dec 2, 2016