Marine: Advice on Wempe Chronometerwerke Marine Chronometer

Discussion in 'Chronometers' started by Drott, Sep 5, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Drott

Drott New Member

Sep 5, 2017
    Country Flag:
    Hello, first of all I just want to say thank you all for some really interesting resources as regards to the broader subject of Horology and in particular Marine Chronometers.

I am - as you may deduct from my post count - an utter novice, and I am writing to you as I just received a gift in the form of a German-made Wempe Chronometerwerke Marine Chronometer from the late 1960s. :)

I have no prior experience with this kind of Horology and my only other timepiece is a "tool-watch" from a well-known Swiss brand...

I am going to procure a few books on Marine Chronometers to build myself a better understanding of this subject, but in the meantime I would highly appreciate any assistance in answering a few questions of a general nature.

It is numbered 8218, see picture (1968, no?)The chronometer runs well, no noticeable deviation from a weeks running. Questions:

1) It has a 56 hour reserve, and I have read online that one should "lock the balance" with cork wedges when going away, does this really carry any purpose if it just sits stationary?

2) The round "cork ring" pictured (although that picture i not from my chronometer but an identical one found on Ebay) looks out of place, what is the real function of that?

View attachment 355712

3) The English-speaking world doesn't exactly seems awash with resources on Wempe and their marine chronometers, any tips? Or can any of you guys tell me something about this kind of chronometer.

I simply adore the look and sound of it and I am sure this will be the beginning of a potentially very expensive new hobby :excited:

2. itspcb

itspcb Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Aug 6, 2006
    UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: