Adjustment of R & I Atkins wood movement

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by lwmetker, Jan 24, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. lwmetker

lwmetker New Member

Jan 24, 2013
    Retired
    Bel Air Maryland
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have an Rollins & Irenus carved column & splat shelf clock in excellent running condition. It keeps excellent time but the striker is striking two hours earlier than the indicated time. The movement appears to be by G & G. W. Bartholemew. I am a total amateur. What is the safest way to adjust the striker to the correct hour? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

2. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi, Iwmetker, welcome to the message board.
    The easiest way is to move the hour hand back to what is being struck, then advance the minute hand to the correct time. Post a few pictures of your clock. We all enjoy a nice old clock:)

3. lwmetker

lwmetker New Member

Jan 24, 2013
    Retired
    Bel Air Maryland
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Thank You. Will be happy to post some photos. Can the hour hand be moved foreward as well? My fear was chipping a tooth on one of the wooden gears. The paper instructions posted in the old clock label mention pulling down a wire hanging from the mechanism before attempting to move the hands. This clock does not appear to have the described wire nor do any of the pictures of the movement that I have been able to find on the net.

4. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: