A quick question about Grande Sonnerie Vienna Regulators

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Peter Planapo, Dec 9, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Peter Planapo

Peter Planapo Registered User

Mar 23, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hi all,

I might be offered a 3-weight Becker, but the owner doesn't know if it's a Grande Sonnerie.

Are there some 3-weight VRs which are not Grande Sonnerie?

If so, what does the third train do?

Thanks
    Peter

2. 124Spider

124Spider Registered User
    NAWCC Member

I'm no expert, but I have a three-weight Becker, so I pay some attention to them; I have never seen a Becker 3-weight Vienna regulator that wasn't a grande sonnerie.

Mark

3. jmclaugh

jmclaugh Registered User

Jun 1, 2006
    Devon
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Not all three train VRs are grande sonnerie, I would imagine most are just the usual quarter striking.

4. Peter Planapo

Mar 23, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Thanks J, this clock is a non-runner, how could one know which was which without hearing it? Can one tell by looking at the gongs for instance?

Peter

5. 124Spider

NAWCC Member

Not trying to be contrarian, but I do question why a three-train clock would be "just the usual quarter striking," when two trains would do that just fine (I own three clocks that strike the quarters--all petite sonnerie--and all are two-train clocks). Not that my knowledge is particularly extensive, but I have never heard of a three-train Becker Vienna regulator that was not a grande sonnerie, and I have seen many, many three train Becker VRs; if one weren't, it would be, I strongly suspect, a chiming clock (not a quarter-striker), but I have never heard of a chiming Becker three-train VR.

Mark

6. 124Spider

NAWCC Member

You can be quite sure that if a three-weight Becker VR has only two gongs, it's a grande sonnerie clock.

7. Peter Planapo