A question of tooth design with regard to suitability and manufacturing methods

Discussion in 'Clock Construction' started by Zahnrad Kopf, Mar 2, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Zahnrad Kopf

Zahnrad Kopf Registered User

Mar 2, 2014
    Toolmaker / Gearmaker
    Tropical Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Warning - Newbie posting

Greetings. This is my first post here and it comes as a question of methods and suitability.

I am a newbie to the world of watch making and clock making. I have it in my head to manufacture my own pocket watch and was directed here by others more familiar with the processes after asking for some direction.

I've been reading and researching, but have the same question that most newbies seem to have -

Why are Cycloidals so much more preferable to Involutes?

If this was 50 years ago ( and earlier ) and I a bit more ignorant I would understand and not bother with the thought. But it isn't and I'm just slightly better than completely ignorant about toothed wheels and their creation and use ...

The two common reasons I have found for mandating Cycloidal tooth forms is friction and strength. This got me to considering the issue, the applications of the pinions and wheels, the way they are manufactured, as well as the materials they are manufactured from.

Given today's available methods and materials, just exactly why can't Involutes be used in the train?