A novice’ approach to a Spherical Pendulum Clock

Discussion in 'Clock Construction' started by ItsAllRelative, Jan 29, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ItsAllRelative

ItsAllRelative Registered User

Jan 28, 2018
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Yup, a spherical Pendulum…and I don’t just mean the shape of the bob!

A quick introduction :

I am creating this thread to follow my conception, exploration, and construction of a Spherical Pendulum clock. I am no physics professor (or student even), but I do hope to keep the thread very scientifically and mathematically informed. I plan to use Wolfram Alpha for data visualization and interaction and Solidworks for CAD renderings along the way. Through this site I hope to connect with other avid horologists, share unique/unusual ideas, and explore a new mechanical concept. As the project progresses from concept to in-the-metal experimentation I will share my thought process’ and I absolutely welcome any input through questions, comments, concerns etc.

The best place to start is by identifying the Spherical Pendulum which could get VERY scientific but I want to keep the intro relatively concise so here goes.

A Spherical Pendulum is free to move any direction in its 3 dimensional space and has 2 degrees of freedom. The bob of the pendulum moves along the surface of a sphere and its location is defined by Spherical coordinates. A spherical pendulum is capable of demonstrating the same behaviors as a simple pendulum (single plane oscillations), a conical pendulum (swinging in circles tracing a cone) and many more behaviors dependent upon its initial starting and driving conditions.