• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

50+ year old Elgin Pocket Watch question

smokeyfan1000

Aug 4, 2012
ello, I'm a newbie (but oldie) here as I just registered.

I have an old ELGIN pocket watch, that belonged to my Father. It has great sentimental value to me.

It has gold plated colored case, IINM, and has a matching gold cover for the lense side, and the conductors loop & chain with white face, roman numerals, and has the "seconds clock" between 5 & 7.

I have just "rediscovered" it this week, and just wound it up to the correct time at 2:18AM this morning, as the knob used to "set the time" does not move the hands. I'm unsure if it is not working properly or if I'm just not doing something right.

So far everything else is working OK thus far, it is a tad 'fast" though.

Can anyone give me some advice as to how to set the time by using the knob? And if it is broken, is it repairable? And where can I get it repaired?

I know ELGIN went out of business in @ 1964 according to my brief,quick research tonight. So I presume any parts to repair the broken shaft/gear, or whatever mechanism is used for setting the time , are NLA?

Thanks In Advance Guys!

Kent

Gibbs Literary Award
NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Gold Member
Aug 26, 2000
Country
Hi smokeyfan1000:

Welcome to the NAWCC American Pocket Watch Message Board!

Your watch is probably lever-set.

If you tell us about, and/or post pictures of, the movement and case markings, we ought to be able to lead to to information about your watch that you might not otherwise come across.