• The online Bulletins and Mart and Highlights are currently unavailable due to a failure of a network piece of equipment. We are working to replace it and have the Online publications available as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.

400 Day Clocks

JLCastor

Nov 9, 2015
Central Indiana
Country
Region
I am just after some additional opinions.

I was discussing 400 day clocks with some of my friends at the Alexandria Clock Co. in Alexandria IN.

the topic of discussion was that 400 day clocks require too much time(repairs/ setting beat etc.) for them being such poor time keepers.

I am new to 400 day clocks and have nearly came to the conclusion that they indeed are poor timekeeping clocks.

What is the popular opinion within this circle here on the forum? "Are 400 day clocks poor timekeepers?"

KurtinSA

NAWCC Member
Nov 24, 2014
San Antonio, TX
Country
Region
This topic has come up in the Torsion/400-Day clock forum. I suspect that one of the moderators will move this thread.

IMO some clocks are poorly made and don't keep clock well. Others are well built and do very well. My oldest clock is a 1913 Gustav Becker that keeps very good time.

They're fiddly to deal with and small adjustments make big changes in time...that might be what people are remembering. On some of my clocks, I'm chasing the time because of the sensitivity of them. But I like them. I think they get a bad rap.

Kurt

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008