19th century English signed bracket clocks with going barrels

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by novicetimekeeper, May 15, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. novicetimekeeper

novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

Jul 26, 2015
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I know that most dial clocks were already centrally manufactured by the beginning of the 18th century, but these were fusee.

When it comes to small bracket/mantel clocks produced in the latter part of the 19th century where did they come from? I was looking at a small clock with a signature on the dial and the back of the movement under the pendulum. It has a number that isn't a T&R number and it has a going barrel. Just a timepiece and I thought attractive but I have no experience of clocks this late.

Is there a resource for serial numbers like the one for T&R

2. daveR

daveR Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 10, 2008
    hospital storeman
    melbourne, Australia
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Interesting question there Nick as I also don't know either. I think even H&M (handley and Moore ) who also made movements for others to brand were long gone by the time you are referring to, but I don't know their dates. A quick google look shows that British United Clock co started in 1885 mass producing movements. Maybe some research into the companies that "united" may give some more information. I think a book was published last year on English clock making of this period , or maybe a little later (early 20th cent)
    David

3. novicetimekeeper

Donor

Jul 26, 2015
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I think Jonathan has that book

I have a small bid in for it, if I win will start a thread.

4. jmclaugh

jmclaugh Registered User

Jun 1, 2006
    Devon
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: