Cleaning 1936 Elgin 519 Cleaning & Reassembly Help Please

Tyson Chambers

Feb 26, 2021
Hi all,
Firstly, I apologize if this post isn't categorized correctly. I'm happy to change any of the tags or categories for the sake of keeping things tidy. So please just message me and let me know.

This is my first post and first watch outside of playing with 60's-70's Timex movements I'm attempting to bring back to life. I don't have all the tools and bells and whistles but I would like to run some of the parts and pieces of this Elgin through an ultra-sonic cleaner. I understand there are some adhesives to be conscious of that won't hold up going through a cleaning cycle. Is it even a good idea to send it through the cleaner? Is there a temperature I should aim for? Are there pieces I should leave out of that process? I'm a total novice so if you think it might be silly to mention something, trust me, I probably would be happy to hear it. Thank you for any insight and assistance you can provide. I look forward to the feedback. 80102.jpeg

Skutt50

Mar 14, 2008
Gothenburg
Country
Welcome to the forum.

I am no expert on this particular watch but it should be like most other watches from that era.

I would not clean the dial or any painted hands in the ultrasonic. Further (and this is my personal preference) I don't clean the balance or the pallet fork in ultrasonic. I have had some jewels come loose in the past so instead I just soak them in cleaning liquid and move them around a little. I also use what is called OneDip to make sure they are clean.

As a side note: Some old watches have the engraved numbers and fighres in the plates coated with black paint. Your movenet dont have this except possibly for the balance cock. This paint may also be lost in an ultrasonic cleaning cycle but can resonably easy be replaced.

Last edited:
Reactions: Tyson Chambers

Marv

NAWCC Member
Jan 29, 2021
Country
Welcome to the club!