Marine: 1915 Hamilton 36 size Deck Watch ID

Discussion in 'Chronometers' started by gypsyslair, Dec 26, 2009.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. gypsyslair

gypsyslair New Member

Dec 23, 2009
    #1 gypsyslair, Dec 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2013
    I'm new to this so please be patient with me. I'm trying to find out more about a 1915 Hamilton 21 deck watch /chronometer but am having great difficulty. I can't find any historical documented information (i.e. how many were made, why, and their rarity etc). From what I've gathered - depending on its casing construct, it served both as a pocket watch as well as chronometer. Was this their 1st version of a chronometer? Everything I learned has been verbal as I can't seem to find any valid documentation - it's as if this piece doesn't exist. The serial # is 1260835 and the piece is in excellent working condition. Any assistance and/or pointing in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I can post/send pics if you like - I just don't know how to yet.

2. Don Dahlberg

Don Dahlberg Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Aug 31, 2000
    Re: 1915 Hamilton 21 Deck Watch ID

This is a 36 size chronometer watch. It was often called a torpedo-boat watch. The first of these went to the Finishing Department in 3/9/15. Many were not finished in production for decades. Your movement is near the last. They were sold from 1918 to 1943.

At the beginning of WWII there was a call for any watches that might have military use so many were brought back into service during WWII. Some were not finished until 1943. There were 966 made.

This is from the Halligan records.

Hal0267.jpg

I can provide year by year production if you write research@nawcc.org with your membership number. Note that I shall not be volunteering at the Library until after the hollidays.

Don

3. doug sinclair

doug sinclair Registered User

Aug 27, 2000