American PW 1890 Waltham Ladies 6s seaside balance wheel.

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by watchwelder, Jul 25, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. watchwelder

watchwelder Registered User

Jul 12, 2014
    Hello,

I am kind of new at this but I am looking for a balance wheel it appears the shaft is worn on both ends. It will only keep steady momentum when sitting level. It moves quite a lot and I was wondering if I should also replace both jewels? Not visibly damaged but there is a lot of movement.

Watchwelder.

2. EdinKali

EdinKali Registered User

Apr 7, 2013
    Elk Grove, CA
    I have worked on many 6s model 1890's. It is much more likely the balance shaft is broken. It should not be loose (movement up and down). There should be very fine pins/shafts sticking out of both the top and bottom of the balance shaft. If both ends just come to a point, both the top and bottom of the balance shaft have been broken off. The two most common problems I come across on this model are broken or bent balance shafts and broken main springs.

3. watchwelder

Jul 12, 2014
    Thank you,

The bottom and top both are pretty much gone. So there would be no real reason to replace the jewels I'm assuming. Do you know of somewhere I can get a balance shaft? This seems to be my only real issue with the moving pieces. However the face of the piece is cracked and chipped. The minute hand and second hand is missing but I have some original Waltham hands to replace them.

4. Kevin W.

Kevin W. Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 11, 2002
    I work at the Veritas Tools machine shop.
    Nepean, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    A watch repair person can re staff it.

5. EdinKali

EdinKali Registered User

Apr 7, 2013
    Elk Grove, CA