14k gruen curvex with a 10k jb champion?

Discussion in 'Wrist Watches' started by Gsvalentin, Mar 1, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Gsvalentin

Gsvalentin Registered User

Mar 1, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello im new to watch collecting and i recently bought a non running 14k curvex. The bracelet is a expandable jb champion that says stainless backs. The tops have small pieces of crocodile set in what tested as 10k, not filled. Is this the original bracelet or was it added later? Ive searched google for anything about the jb champion 10k tops and only found stuff about filled. Also i ran the movement by a compass and it is magnetic. Could demagnetizing actually get this watch running without having to disassemble it?

20200301_192846.jpg 20200301_192921.jpg

2. Hawk53

Hawk53 Registered User

Dec 19, 2013
    retired
    native Californian
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the insanity we lovingly call "watch collecting"....

I doubt that anything shy of a good COA will solve your problem, but you could try de-magnetizing it first.

3. Gsvalentin

Mar 1, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
  4. Hawk53

Hawk53 Registered User

Dec 19, 2013
    retired
    native Californian
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    You betcha:)

5. Barney Green

Barney Green Registered User

Jan 19, 2017
    electronics engineer
    Diesel gate HQ
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have the original Gruen band catalog and checked if Gruen had ever factory equipped this band with one of their watches. They did not.
    So with 98% certainty the watch must have been equipped with this band later.
    The watch looks like a model from the years1945 to 1948, you may check if the band has a patent number (they often refer to one). If the patent was issued later, you can get to 100%...

Barney

6. Gsvalentin

Mar 1, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag: