• Important Executive Director Announcement from the NAWCC

    The NAWCC Board of Directors is pleased to announce that Mr. Rory McEvoy has been named Executive Director of the NAWCC. Rory is an internationally renowned horological scholar and comes to the NAWCC with strong credentials that solidly align with our education, fundraising, and membership growth objectives. He has a postgraduate degree in the conservation and restoration of antique clocks from West Dean College, and throughout his career, he has had the opportunity to handle some of the world’s most important horological artifacts, including longitude timekeepers by Harrison, Kendall, and Mudge.

    Rory formerly worked as Curator of Horology at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, where his role included day-to-day management of research and digitization projects, writing, public speaking, conservation, convening conferences, exhibition work, and development of acquisition/disposal and collection care policies. In addition, he has worked as a horological specialist at Bonhams in London, where he cataloged and handled many rare timepieces and built important relationships with collectors, buyers, and sellers. Most recently, Rory has used his talents to share his love of horology at the university level by teaching horological theory, history, and the practical repair and making of clocks and watches at Birmingham City University.

    Rory is a British citizen and currently resides in the UK. Pre-COVID-19, Rory and his wife, Kaai, visited HQ in Columbia, Pennsylvania, where they met with staff, spent time in the Museum and Library & Research Center, and toured the area. Rory and Kaai will be relocating to the area as soon as the immigration challenges and travel restrictions due to COVID-19 permit.

    Some of you may already be familiar with Rory as he is also a well-known author and lecturer. His recent publications include the book Harrison Decoded: Towards a Perfect Pendulum Clock, which he edited with Jonathan Betts, and the article “George Graham and the Orrery” in the journal Nuncius.

    Until Rory’s relocation to the United States is complete, he will be working closely with an on-boarding team assembled by the NAWCC Board of Directors to introduce him to the opportunities and challenges before us and to ensure a smooth transition. Rory will be participating in strategic and financial planning immediately, which will allow him to hit the ground running when he arrives in Columbia

    You can read more about Rory McEvoy and this exciting announcement in the upcoming March/April issue of the Watch & Clock Bulletin.

    Please join the entire Board and staff in welcoming Rory to the NAWCC community.

Recent content by Tim Orr

  1. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    In Case You Missed It: Like Clockwork: The Philadelphia Clocks and Creations of Isaiah Lukens with Elizabeth Fox If you missed the program and would like to view it now, you can watch the recording on the Athenaeum YouTube Channel: https://youtu.be/FKQPmZOHhCY Interested in attending more...
  2. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    Sunday, March 7, 1PM PST, 2PM MST, 3PM CST, 4PM EST: Darrah Artzner on Rockford 18S Watches The Seattle Chapters are holding regular ZOOM meetings every other Sunday at 1PM PST. All are welcome to join. Our next ZOOM meeting will be Sunday March 7 at 1PM PST. Darrah Artzner of Chapter 139...
  3. Tim Orr

    SETTING THE BEAT - WHEN IS IT OKAY TO WALK AWAY?

    Good evening, all! The late lamented Bernie Tekippe told me that according to Rawlings and others, since beat has no effect on timekeeping, you just need it good enough that it sounds nice to the uneducated ear (NOT Bruce's) and runs the full length of its rated wind cycle. No need to go OCD on...
  4. Tim Orr

    What SWCC Movement is in this clock?

    Good evening, Tim! You can always send a query to Ken Reindel. I know that he is familiar with this movement. They were not very common, and according to Ken, he doesn't like them very much. Apparently, the motors are troublesome and difficult to work on. Best regards! Tim
  5. Tim Orr

    What SWCC Movement is in this clock?

    Good afternoon, Tim! The motor serves the same purpose as the vibrating assembly on the F-type clocks, to wind the mainspring. You can find a lot of information on Ken Reindel's website: https://www.kensclockclinic.com/ Best of luck! Tim Orr
  6. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    align="center" style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | valign="top" | style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | valign="top" width="100%" | style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | valign="top" | MONDAY, Feb. 22, 7PM PST, 8PM MST, 9PM CST, 10PM EST: Jack Wood on Restoration of WWI Wristwatches...
  7. Tim Orr

    Clock Pivot wire snapped

    Good afternoon! There are instructions for how to do this on this Forum. You will need some skill and tools. If you can't do the work yourself, Fendley & Cox in Dallas routinely replace broken pivots: https://fendley-cox.com/ Best regards! Tim Orr
  8. Tim Orr

    Breaking old glue bonds

    Good evening, all! I don't believe celluloid (cellulose nitrate – identical to "guncotton") is soluble in alcohol. I believe you would need acetone. There are plastics that dissolve in alcohol, but I cannot remember which ones they are. They're not very common anymore. Best regards! Tim Orr...
  9. Tim Orr

    How To Remove Brass Housing.

    Good evening, Kieran! Someone (including perhaps, the maker) might have glued it in. Some people claim to have good luck with putting white vinegar on a joint and letting it soak to loosen the glue. Trouble is, there's a huge area that might have glue on it. And, the vinegar could do something...
  10. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | align="center" valign="top" | align="center" style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | valign="top" | style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | valign="top" | align="left" style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- | style="width: 100%" width="100%" |- |...
  11. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    Coming this SATURDAY! New Mexico Zia Sundials Chapter# 106 Zoom meeting Feb. 13, 2021 1 PM MST “From Bain to Shortt: Electrical Timekeeping, 1840-1940” by James Nye Feb. 13, 2021 NOON PST, 1 PM MST, 2 PM CST, 3PM EST This is a recorded video presentation from the 2013 Ward Francillon NAWCC...
  12. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    Thurs, Feb 18, 11AM PST, NOON MST, 1PM CST, 2PM EST: The Jura Mountains & Omega Watches Greetings Everyone from Tim Schulz: The next Boulder Horological Society Zoom meeting has been scheduled for Thursday, February 18th at 12 noon Mountain Time. The link is at the end. For this month we will...
  13. Tim Orr

    Bouncing/Clacking Sound in Gong Sequence.

    Good evening, Clarke! As the butler says in The Big Sleep, "I make many mistakes, Sir." However, if it's not the gong itself that is chattering, which usually is because the hammer rest position is too close to the gong, I would bet that the gong pin wheel is traveling too far after the gong...
  14. Tim Orr

    Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

    Sunday, Feb 21, 11AM PST, NOON MST, 1PM CST, 2PM EST: John Connolly on “The World of Weird, Wonderful and Wealthy Wristwatches" Also: An actual E-Mart! NAWCC Toronto Chapter 33 invites you to a zoom meeting Sunday Feb 21, 2021 at 2PM (eastern time) John Connolly will be presenting a...
  15. Tim Orr

    Old BOD Pictures

    Good evening, all! Here's one of Board and Staff from November of 2019, back when we had barely heard of a pandemic! Best regards! Tim Orr
Know Your NAWCC Forums Rules!
RULES & GUIDELINES

Find member

Forum statistics

Threads
163,491
Messages
1,420,651
Members
84,902
Latest member
Henry33
Encyclopedia Pages
1,101
Total wiki contributions
2,857
Last edit
Aurora's 15 Ruby Jewel Movements by Greg Frauenhoff

514 Poplar Street
Columbia, PA 17512

Phone: 717-684-8261

Contact the Webmaster for perceived copyright infringement (DMCA Registration Number 1010287).

Copyright © National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors Inc (A 501c3 non-profit corporation). All Rights Reserved.

The NAWCC is dedicated to providing association services, promoting interest in and encouraging the collecting of clocks and watches including disseminating knowledge of the same.