Month's Goal: $300, Received: $325.00 - (109%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default fusee chain repair question

hi, i have a small english clock and the fusee chain is broken due to a mainspring mishap. I have little experience with these and am trying to figure to which way the hooks face so they will be correct. If you lay out the chain flat will the hooks hook in the same direction or in opposite directions? I know the barrel hook will only go one way but the fusee end looks like it could hook under or over the pin.

I would also like to hear from anyone with experience replacing these tapered link pins, I have all the parts and the one link pin was pulled out, so it looks like i can replace the pulled pins.

thanks for the help. Joe Hall

Blog Entries

Default Re: fusee chain repair question (RE: klokwiz)

Hi,

If it's a normal fusee, both hooks face the same way, and the hook with the spike, (if there is one), goes in the barrel. If it's a reverse fusee, with the chain crossing over from the barrel to the opposite side of the fusee, then the hooks have to be facing opposite ways. The link pins have to be riveted in, but not too tightly, so that the chain can still flex, and the rivet must not stand proud, as it has to fit in the fusee groove without binding.

Regards,

Graham

graham,

thanks for the reply. I am familiar with the difference in hooks, tks. the chain on this runs from fusee to and around barrel like a reel to reel tape would, so i assume this is not a reverse fusee. It sounds like you have experience with this repair, what can i use to make the tappered pin? so far have read use "nonClick image for larger version. 

Name:	movmt2.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	149.4 KB 
ID:	166260Click image for larger version. 

Name:	movmt open.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	128.4 KB