Month's Goal: $300, Received: $240.00 - (80%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 3697 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
    Michael Vala

Default Cuckoo with two cuckoo birds-1930s Schmeckenbecher

I have a very old (guessing 1920s-30s) Schmeckenbecher Cuckoo clock with 2 cuckoo birds, 3 bellows, 3 chains, rather heavy weights (I think 875 gram, possibly heavier). Its a fairly large clock and a very heavy brass movement. I'm just getting into it now to see if I can get it to run. Does anyone know this clock, and how the cuckoos operate. It also has two strike hammers/gongs.

Michael Vala

Default Cuckoo with two cuckoo birds-1930s Schmeckenbecher (RE: Michael Vala)

I have a very old (guessing 1920s-30s) Schmeckenbecher Cuckoo clock with 2 cuckoo birds, 3 bellows, 3 chains, rather heavy weights (I think 875 gram, possibly heavier). Its a fairly large clock and a very heavy brass movement. I'm just getting into it now to see if I can get it to run. Does anyone know this clock, and how the cuckoos operate. It also has two strike hammers/gongs.

Hi Michael,

This is called a quail and cuckoo clock. Can you post pictures of it here?

Andy

<span class="ev_code_RED">Try to make the Message Board a fun place to visit again! </span>
    So many clocks, so little time.
    The International 400 Day Clock Chapter 168, Global Horology Chapter 192.

Michael Vala

Here are a couple of photos. Thanks for the reply--I have heard of those cuckoos and never knew that's what they were. Are these kind of rare?

Michael Vala

Here is photo of the front--traditional carvings--a rather large clock. Still do not know how it cuckoos. When and how does second bird cuckoo. I will be removing movement to check it out.

Michael,