Month's Goal: $300, Received: $300.00 - (100%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 919 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 11 12345 ... LastLast

Default Seth Thomas 124 (total newbie)

I just acquired a 1941 Seth Thomas tambour clock with 124 movement. And I'm a total newbie.

From the MANY hours I've spent reading this forum over the last few days, I'm probably totally crazy
    to even think about working on it myself, but I'd like to try.

1) I'm mechanically inclined, been been building model aircraft for many years, have lots of small tools, etc.
    I'm good at taking things apart, and they USUALLY work after I've put them back together.
    2) It won't run for more than a few minutes. I'm sure it needs to be cleaned & oiled. Taking it apart for
    cleaning looks REALLY scary, but I don't have the cash to pay to have it done.
    3) I've removed the movement from the case, but I'm not crazy enough to do anything more until I get a
    copy of Conover's Chime Clock Repair, which has a chapter on the 124. I should have it late this week.
    4) I don't see any elongated pivot holes or visible wear, so I don't think it needs any bushings.
    5) The only apparent mechanical problem is that the square (key end) of the chime silence shaft is broken
    off. Is there any way to fix this? Should I just grind the end of the shaft to fit the small end of the key?
    Or do I need to replace the shaft? If so, does anyone have one available?
    6) The strike hammer falls too slowly to make noise - the star wheel doesn't seem to completely release the
    lift arm, keeping it from dropping quickly enough. I'm hoping that cleaning will fix it, but I doubt that it will.