Month's Goal: $300, Received: $120.00 - (40%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 1383 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Watch stopping intermittently after cleaning

First of all - this is my first post. I'm just getting into restoring pocket watches and have been having a lot of fun. Reading this board has been a real resource to me so I hope that you all will be able to help.

To get my feet wet I decided to disassemble, clean and oil a Molnija pocket watch (probably from the 70s - no good records). They're a good place to start because they're cheap, well-made and plentiful on ebay.

I disassembled it and then washed the movement using an ultrasonic machine with L&R #677, followed by a rinse of L&R watch lube. I don't have a dryer, unfortunately, as I'm trying not to spend too much on the hobby at once. I re-assembled it with no real problems (aside from dropping and finding screws of course) and oiled all the jewels. I did not get any oil on the hairspring. After putting it back together it runs much smoother, but still stops occasionally.

I was wondering if people had suggestions about where to look next. This watch is very much a "learning" watch - so I'm game to try anything.

Alternatively - what repair or piece of maintenance do you wish you had practiced more before using it? I'd rather mess up this watch than an elgin or a waltham (or a more vintage molnija - they're very wonderful watches).

Default Re: Watch stopping intermittently after cleaning (RE: Aeturnum)

Does it stop randomly while laying still, or does it stop in one certain position?

Intermittent stopping can be difficult to track down, but here are a few things I'd check:

Check the balance jewels for cracks or breaks.