Month's Goal: $300, Received: $350.00 - (117%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 3888 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    David M.

Default ultrasonic cleaner question

I'm a novice in the world of clock repair, and am realizing a great deal of satisfaction in the cleaning and repair of mainly tambour style 8-day mantel clocks. I'm considering buying an ultrasonic cleaner, but am unsure about the correct size for my needs. Could anyone offer advice on what size cleaner would be best for 8-day movements?

Thanks
    David

Default ultrasonic cleaner question (RE: David M.)

David --buy the largest ultrasonic you can afford-this wonderful hobby will pull you in deeper and deeper --so you will appreciate having the ability to clean larger movements as time goes by. JACK

Blog Entries

David,

I agree with Jack and Phil. Several years ago, I had a small 2 litre size for watches, and a larger 4 litre size for clocks. How I got by with that, I do not know. One day, a friend phoned me and told me he had been garage saling. He found a three gallon ultrasonic, new in the box for $ 90.00 (Cdn.)! He bought it because he needed an ultrasonic to clean his wife's jewellery. He had a proposition. He would swap it even up for my small one!!!!! I needed less than a second to make up my mind!

At one stage in the cleaning process, before dis-assembly, I clean clocks all together. I can fit three average mantel movements in there, and the big three-weight movements fit with lots of room to spare. In fact, I think I could get TWO of them in there.

A small one will hold you back.

Doug S.

Bob Vasquez