Month's Goal: $300, Received: $110.00 - (37%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 1600 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
    Registered user. Seismicpocketwatcher's Avatar

Default Bulova Ambassador Automatic 30 jewel

As a collector of pocketwatches i recently purchased one at auction in the bottom underneath i found a Bulova Ambassador Automatic 30 jewel wristwatch which appeared grotty, i removed the caseback to reveal a very clean and working movement it has Swiss made M5 30 jewel stamped on the movement i have limited knowledge of wristwatches so would appreciate any information you could supply.

PS The winder and time set work perfrctly but i do not know how to change the date?.

Default Re: Bulova Ambassador Automatic 30 jewel (RE: Seismicpocketwatcher)

M5 tells us it was made in 1965 (there might be a similar code on the case, but that could be off by a year or so). I think these are micro-rotor movments, but there should be a code on the bridge of the watch that'll tell us for sure. Something like 12EBAD?

Most of these would "quickset" the date by moving the time back and forth between 9:00pm or 10:00pm and Midnight.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

Default Re: Bulova Ambassador Automatic 30 jewel (RE: AbslomRob)

You are correct the code on the bridge is 12 EBAD.
    Also the rear case has CB 503 M5 does this have any meaning.

Quote Originally Posted by AbslomRob View Post
    M5 tells us it was made in 1965 (there might be a similar code on the case, but that could be off by a year or so). I think these are micro-rotor movments, but there should be a code on the bridge of the watch that'll tell us for sure. Something like 12EBAD?