Month's Goal: $300, Received: $90.00 - (30%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 1689 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.

Default Cleaning Fluid Info please

With the high price of watch cleaning and rinsing fluids, does any one have a recipe for making your own?

RDStorer

Blog Entries

Default Re: Cleaning Fluid Info please (RE: rdstorer)

Rd this topic has been covered many times, recently in the clock repair forum.If you do a search on this you should find what you are looking for.
    One clock at a time. Kevin West
    http://www.global-horology.com/GHMB/

Default Re: Cleaning Fluid Info please (RE: rdstorer)

As a chemist I tried to price out making my own watch cleaning solution. I could not come close! Stick with the commercial cleaners.

Rinse is a different story. 75% Stoddard Solvent and 25% VM&P Naphtha is a common commercial rinse. The problem is you have to find good quality sovents that do not leave a residue. I use the Klean-Strip brands.

Now the cleaners contain detergents that help remove some of the grunge and other materials that remove oxidized metals, making them shine. If you do not care about the metal shinning and if you are willing to do a bit more hand work, then you can just use several rinse baths.

It really comes down to how much your time is worth. If you want to spend hours running around, mixing solutions and doing more hand work on the watch, then you can save a few dollars. If you are a professional, then your time is worth much more than the "savings".

Don

Blog Entries

Default Re: Cleaning Fluid Info please (RE: Don Dahlberg)

Also depends on safety on the use of the cleaner and how you will dispose of it later.
    I dont think much is saved when you do it your self.