Month's Goal: $300, Received: $305.00 - (102%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 1674 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.

Question ?Ladies Pocket Watch?

Hello,
    This is my first post & I'm very new at collecting. I have inherited 4 pocket watches & find them fascinating - hence my new hobby!
    This looks like a ladies' watch & has a gold filled (I think) case that says "Empire State Guaranteed 20 Years" and the number 2433917. The name on the face of the watch is "Longeau Watch." The movement has no name on it, except that it says "1ONE JEWEL, No Adjustment, Gilomen Swis." I've googled & googled, but get very little info. A company named Schlup & Co. seems linked to the Songeau name, according to the Watchipedia. The company was formed in 1917 that is now part of Swatch. The only other reference I find is on eBay where 2 wristwatches with that name are for sale, but no info on the company. I also keep getting the name Enicar, which is Racine backwards, & that's all I know about THAT!
    Can anyone add anything to help me figure out how to find more info on it? Thanks in advance for any help...I've attached 2 pics.
    Joe
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC00007.JPG   DSC00008.JPG  

Default Re: ?Ladies Pocket Watch? (RE: LibertyJoe)

Gilomen is listed in the book Swiss Timepiece Makers 1775-1975 by Pritchard.

They also had the Heloisa brand and were in Longnau Switzerland. She writes they made cylinder watches, a lower end type. They were also known for Roskopf watches. These are also called pin lever or pin pallet watches. They were made to be inexpensive and give good service.

There is book on these now in print