Month's Goal: $300, Received: $305.00 - (102%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 1962 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Seth Thomas Mantel Clock - Identify Age

I just purchased a Seth Thomas Mantel clock at a flea market for $40. It keeps good time and chimes on the 1/4, 1/2 , and hour. The movement is a A-400 Series Chime Movement and is made in Germany. This movement has three main barrel springs and the clock dimensions are 20" by 9" by 5". Attached is a photo of this clock under Managed Attachments.

I am trying to determine the age of this clock since there is no date on the movement. I also want to know if the barrel springs can be released without a spring winder. I am a beginner and only have worked on open loop springs. This clock will most likely need service and I would like to do it myself. The only issue is the main barrel springs since I do not have a spring winder to release the springs from the barrel.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG00011-20090426-1836.jpg  

Forums Administrator harold bain's Avatar

Default Re: Seth Thomas Mantel Clock - Identify Age (RE: dalesr)

Hi, Dale. Your clock appears to be a Woodbury, circa 1962. 17 1/2 inches wide, 4 1/2 deep, 8 inches high. Cost $59.95.
    The springs can probably be removed from the movement without separating the plates, but first let them down into the barrels. Removing them from the barrels can be done without a winder, but it's not easy.
    harold bain, Member ch 33
    "If it won't "tick",
    let me "tock" to it"

Default Re: Seth Thomas Mantel Clock - Identify Age (RE: harold bain)

Harold,