Month's Goal: $300, Received: $235.00 - (78%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 2332 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.

Default Le Roy Pocket Watch? Which one ?

Hallo All,

My name is Matthew and I am new to this Message Board. I am hoping you can all help with my latest pocket watch purchase.

The time piece face shows Le Roy and the movement is marked with the following:
    1. Serial Number
    2. "A Paris"
    3. "Furet" - Still trying to figure out what this means...

There are no markings on the movement showing Le Roy so i am trying to determine its date and estimated value so that i can know if i paid to much.

Really hope you can all help.

Look forward to hearing from you.

regards,

Matt Harris

Default Re: Le Roy Pocket Watch? Which one ? (RE: matthewdavisharris)

Matt, I suggest you post some photos.

Michael

HI guys

Sorry but i did post pics and something went wrong.
    Maybe this time...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_9539.JPG  

More pics
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_9540.jpg   IMG_9541.jpg   IMG_9542.jpg   IMG_9543.jpg   IMG_9544.jpg  

IMG_9546.jpg  

Matthew, based on the appearance of the movement, I would say the watch is from around 1790-1800. Unfortunately, the photos are a bit small - blame it on the MB. I can't really confirm the signatures but at least you can. "Furet" can mean ferret or pipe cleaner in French.... and it can also be the surname of a person.

In this case, I suspect you read one name off the dial and quite a different name off the rear plate, if you know what I mean. The "PL" on the case back is likely the monogramme of the owner.

As for a value, the MB rules preclude valuation.

Michael
    [edit=3032=1215617160][/edit]

Michael,