Month's Goal: $300, Received: $90.00 - (30%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 3255 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.
    chasbaz

Default Synchronome power supply? (RE: chasbaz)

Hi,

I'm asking this as a complete newbie in the field of electric clocks, though a comparative 'oldbie' on the mechanical clock board, so please bear with my elementary questions.

Our local museum has a very fine looking British Synchronome clock, donated by a geological institute. I think it was used for accurate timekeeping rather than a master/slave setup. From my board searches it seems that these can be run using 1.5-volt 'hobby' batteries or by an AC/regulator setup. My main question, not being at all electically-minded, is - are all Synchronomes 1.5-volt? If so, is it a fairly straightforward matter of connecting the battery? If not, I can post some pics of the clock and its movement and circuits.

It is a gorgeous clock and I would like to get it running for them.

Many thanks,
    Charles

chasbaz

Default Synchronome power supply?

Hi,

I'm asking this as a complete newbie in the field of electric clocks, though a comparative 'oldbie' on the mechanical clock board, so please bear with my elementary questions.

Our local museum has a very fine looking British Synchronome clock, donated by a geological institute. I think it was used for accurate timekeeping rather than a master/slave setup. From my board searches it seems that these can be run using 1.5-volt 'hobby' batteries or by an AC/regulator setup. My main question, not being at all electically-minded, is - are all Synchronomes 1.5-volt? If so, is it a fairly straightforward matter of connecting the battery? If not, I can post some pics of the clock and its movement and circuits.