Goal: $300, Received: $185.00 (62%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Main Spring Click Rivet

I am in need of help to learn how to properly rivet a click on the main gear of a sessions clock. I am trying to replace the warn click with a new one. The information I need is what tool do I use to properly "set" the rivet on the gear. Any help provided will be greatly appreciated. PS. This is my first attempt at posting a thread on this site. James Bedingfield

Default Re: Main Spring Click Rivet (By: James Bedingfield)

Welcome to the message board. You will find a mass amount of knowledge here.
    I make my own rivets. The after market ones don't always work well for allot of applications. I measure the head and drill a indent into a piece of aluminium the size of the head or a little bigger but not by much. I stake the under side down with a round ended staking tool. Be careful not to seat to much. If the click becomes to tight. But the head into a bigger hole and slightly tap till it becomes loose enough to operate properly. Hope this helps.
    R&A Sometimes we are retarded and sometimes we are advanced.

Default Re: Main Spring Click Rivet (By: James Bedingfield)

James,
    Welcome to the MB. Just a few points will describe how I do this. It's also how the clicks were usually insalled originally.
    You will need a set of cutting broaches, a small ball peen hammer (4 ounce), a jewellers saw, and of course the click, click spring, and a suitable rivet. A small vice with an anvil back is handy too.
    First, make the hole in the click to be a loose but not 'sloppy loose' fit on the rivet. Next, make the hole in the spoke a tight fit for the rivet, and slightly bevel the sharp inner edge of the hole on the spring side, you can do this with a
    3/16" drill bit.