Goal: $300, Received: $125.00 (42%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Waltham Jewel Hole Sizing

I'm new to the hobby of watch repair and still have a lot to learn. I need an upper balance hole jewel for a Model 1883 18s Waltham pocket watch. I tried to measure the pivot on the balance wheel and came up with 0.12 mm so I ordered a 0.13 mm jewel. However, the balance wheel seems to get jammed in the jewel hole when I try to put the balance wheel into the cock. Would that indicate a hole that is too small or have I screwed something else up?
    Thanks.

Default Re: Waltham Jewel Hole Sizing (By: Jim Crawford)

Sorry, I meant to post this in watch repair.

Blog Entries

Possibly the jewel was not actually a 12 pivot, usually I get or try to get a selection of different sizes and hope for the best. Lacking a jewel hole gauge it is always a crapshoot when someone else sells you the jewel.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Crawford View Post
    I'm new to the hobby of watch repair and still have a lot to learn. I need an upper balance hole jewel for a Model 1883 18s Waltham pocket watch. I tried to measure the pivot on the balance wheel and came up with 0.12 mm so I ordered a 0.13 mm jewel. However, the balance wheel seems to get jammed in the jewel hole when I try to put the balance wheel into the cock. Would that indicate a hole that is too small or have I screwed something else up?
    Thanks.