Goal: $300, Received: $225.00 (75%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Gorgeous Elgin wrist watch needs repair. HELP

Good morning all, I have a gorgeous little Elgin wrist watch that needs repair. I've never seen one like this. I'm not a watch expert, but I have only found pocket watches by Elgin from this era. So far, three repair shops have passed on repairing it. Can anyone recommend one that can handle this? Pics attached. Thx. Kent Reichert
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0671.jpg 
Views:	1360 
Size:	582.2 KB 
ID:	339774   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0672.jpg 
Views:	135 
Size:	373.4 KB 
ID:	339775   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0673.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	421.7 KB 
ID:	339776   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0674.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	397.0 KB 
ID:	339777   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0675.jpg 
Views:	140 
Size:	566.3 KB 
ID:	339778  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0676.jpg 
Views:	134 
Size:	549.9 KB 
ID:	339779   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0677.jpg 
Views:	148 
Size:	861.7 KB 
ID:	339780   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0679.jpg 
Views:	147 
Size:	817.4 KB 
ID:	339781   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KRF_0680.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	686.6 KB 
ID:	339782  

Default Re: Gorgeous Elgin wrist watch needs repair. HELP (By: maxbernat)

Any watchmaker would at least quote you a price for servicing the watch. I can't tell the condition of the bushings, but if they're in decent shape, the watch may be worth repairing. Of course a lot depends on how much you have into the watch, and you're willing to put into repairing it. If it just needs a clean, oil, and adjust (COA), you might get by for $80-120. If it needs more, the prices start to add up quickly.