Goal: $300, Received: $360.00 (120%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Lorenz Furtwängler & Söhne Wall Clock

Hello. I have been viewing this site for quite some time to get tips and info and finally decided to join. I am a hobbyist and have been enjoying working on and collecting clocks for a number of years.

I recently acquired an LFS wall clock from a flea market. It seems to be very nicely made movement. The only markings I can find read "LFS" and "56192" on the back of the movement and simply a "192" on the front. It also came with a note from a shop that worked on it back in 1997, which I found interesting. I believe it is Swiss or French, but I will have to check with Google Translate at a later time.

I do know that it is supposed to chime every quarter hour. The note mentions "sonnerie," which I believe confirms that. It has two hammers on one side of the movement, which appear to shut off at a certain point, and four more on the other side which are driven by a linkage that engages the chime train second wheel. Unfortunately, at some point, the teeth of that wheel were worn down or sheared off, as well as the pins that would actuate the hammers. I don't know whether or not someone attempted to repair the movement without letting down the power from the springs or what, but the teeth on that wheel are in pretty bad shape. I attempted to attach some pictures. Being my first post, I hope I did it right! Since the teeth are worn, I have not wound the chime side in order to prevent any further damage. That's why I'm not sure exactly how it is supposed to chime.