Goal: $300, Received: $275.00 (92%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Quartz Mechanical Bim Bam Chime Rods

I am not a clockmaker. I am a woodworker that has made clocks. Several years ago I made a mantle clock that used a mechanical movement and gong that would strike the hour and half-hour. However, the movement is no longer available at an economical price. I was wanting to try and use the quartz mechanical unit in the photo; however, there are a few issues I am concerned about this movement.

First, I liked the rich sound that the mechanical unit with the gong provided. I'm worried the chime rods won't provide the same rich tone. I noticed that the chime rods are screw-in. Would it be possible to replace the rods with longer rods to produce a richer/deeper tone? I assume longer rods make a lower tone.

Second, I liked that the mechanical unit only had one strike, and not a bim-bam strike. Would there be any issue with removing one of the chime rods so the quartz mechanical only had a single strike? I'm not sure if this would cause any undue stress on the movement shortening its lifespan. I'm also not sure if the mechanics of the second "ghost" hammer would be audible enough to make the case unpleasant.

Thanks so much for any advice provided. Had I known the $40, 14-Day, Hermle Movement option was a limited time offer, I would have purchased several more. Now I am left with trying to improvise.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	quartz bim bam.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	11.0 KB 
ID:	336610

Tom
    Bellingham, WA

Default Re: Quartz Mechanical Bim Bam Chime Rods (By: powerwindow)

Yes, the rods can be exchanged, they are the smaller 6 1/2 mm viarity, actual head diameter is 6 mm.
    The interior of the case has to be at least 6 1/2" wide.
    Willie X

Quote Originally Posted by Willie X View Post