Goal: $300, Received: $350.00 (117%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Waltham 1892 model grades

Hi guys: I have a question about the Walthams 1892 model pocket watches. When I read on the 1892 model research website, Walthams new creation was called the Vangard and was marked so on the watch movements. At some point it was changed to the name of a grade that lists Vangard, Appleton Tracy & Co., Crescent Street, P.S. Bartlett, & the 845. If someone has a Waltham 1892 Private Label watch that dose not have a grade name, how can you tell what grade it is. I see that there are differences in the damaskeening & the location of the serial number, and number of barrel bridge screw holes. The watch in question is # 7902754 produced in 1896, as I am new to watch collecting I don't recognize the small changes. It seems that the different grade names run throughout the 1892 model so how can you tell which grade it is. Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails watch8.jpg   watch10.jpg   watch3.jpg  

Smile Re: Waltham 1892 model grades

Quote Originally Posted by MLH View Post
    Hi guys: I have a question about the Walthams 1892 model pocket watches. ... If someone has a Waltham 1892 Private Label watch that dose not have a grade name, how can you tell what grade it is. ... The watch in question is # 7902754 produced in 1896, as I am new to watch collecting I don't recognize the small changes. It seems that the different grade names run throughout the 1892 model so how can you tell which grade it is. ...
    The fact is that you really can't tell. Even if a private label watch has a serial number right smack in the middle of a run known to be made up of a specific grade of watches there is still no guarantee that it is finished the same as that grade of watch.