Goal: $300, Received: $125.00 (42%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Default Difference in run time before winding

Morning all,

This may be a pointless question and will certainly display my lack of knowledge but I came across something I found interesting. As I am new to pocket watches and just received my second one I thought I would run a test or two. At noon Wednesday I wound up both watches fully and set them both to noon. I checked on them both throughout the day and both kept the same time down to less than a minute with each other as well as a couple of my electric wristwatches so I am confident that they are reliable time pieces. In fact I will be going out of town next week and plan to carry one of them as my only time piece. The odd thing though was that I let both run all the way down to see how long they would operate. Both are Waltham railroad watches that have been mentioned here. The one I got for Christmas ran for just over 36 hours which honestly surprised me. The one I received this week ran a few minutes more than 24. This doesn't worry me in any way but I found it curious. Is this a common difference among watches of similar build from the same maker? How long should the average watch from this era run when in good condition?

Rick H.

Smile Re: Difference in run time before winding

Rick:

Unless the watches have been properly cleaned and oiled within the last 24-36 months, any discussion of running time between windings is meaningless.

Railroad watches built after the turn of the century would run (keeping a rate of +/- 30 seconds/week) for 42 hours. For those built earlier, 30-36 hours would be the minimum expected.