Goal: $300, Received: $305.00 (102%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Registered user.

Default Signicance of a Liver bird on a 1777 watch cock

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, I have read quite a few posts over the years, but never had any watches that were really of interest.
    I have been working on a project tracing my family roots back, my mother is Belizean, and my father is British,
    he married her when jungle training in the Military in the 60's, it was against army regs, so he lost rank, but as
    she held British Honduras passport they had to allow her passage to the uk.

I could go on for hours, but I won't, from my mitochondrial DNA test I'm part of a tribe called the Nzema from Ghana.

so whilst collecting/buying slave artifacts from ebay, to demonstrate in my short documentary, I was seduced by
    a Verge Fusee watch made by one Thomas Ollive, all date stamped and correct for 1777, beatifully engraved
    signature and Cranbrook, which is were Ollive worked, a small village in Kent, UK, and numbered 112

the reason I purchasd it was that Thomas Ollives Sister ( Elizabeth ) married Thomas Paine in 1771, who was one of the founding fathers
    of the USA, which all links into the slave trade, as he was at the forefront of the abolition of slavery, he was also friend to Benjamin Franklin
    who encouraged him to go to the states, and it was Paines writing of the pamphlet Common sense that was sold and read out in drinking
    houses lodges and open air forums, and was the catalyst for common folk to stand up against the British.

so long winded way of asking my question, the watch is dated 1777, probably one of the first that Ollive made as he finished his Aprenticeship
    in 1776, the watch was made in Cranbrook, Kent, but has a beautiful engraving of a liver bird, which is synonamous with Liverpool, and from my research