Goal: $300, Received: $160.00 (53%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Smile Constructing or reprogramming: Alternative "Minute"

Hello!

I'm new to the nuances of clock and watch construction, so please forgive me, but I am curious if it is possible to construct a clock or reprogram/alternate an existing clock to make the "minute" time a different amount of time, i.e. 58 seconds or 45 seconds instead of 60 seconds. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm working for an artist who is hoping to make (or for someone else to make) a clock or watch where the minute is a different amount of time than 60 seconds. Is this even possible?

Thank you!

Default Re: Constructing or reprogramming: Alternative "Minute" (By: timequestioner)

Use a longer or shorter pendulum.
    Johnny

Default Re: Constructing or reprogramming: Alternative "Minute" (By: John MacArthur)

Hi Johnny,

Thanks for the response! If it's not a pendulum clock, and it's either a mechanical or quartz, do you think changing the gears, like constructing new gears with different amounts of teeth to change the rotation would work? Or for the quartz, changing the circuit?

Thanks again for your help.

Registered user.

Default Re: Constructing or reprogramming: Alternative "Minute" (By: timequestioner)

A different crystal will change the rate. The problem is to find one that
    is in the KHz range needed. Most crystals are flat MHz ones.
    The clock one is a split tuning fork one intended for 32KHz.
    A possible way to deal with it if you know how to program, something
    like an arduino could replace the crystal as a frequency reference.
    Do note the diference in voltages.
    Tinker Dwight