Goal: $300, Received: $90.00 (30%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Gents Pulsynetic Master Clock - advice required

Hello all,

I am new to this and have done some surfing and I expect the answer I'm looking for is around here somewhere - it's just finding it!

I am a new owner of a Gents Pulsynetic Master Clock. I've never dealt with one before although I am an electrical engineer and build steam engines for a hobby, so I should have the technical bases covered.

I purchased this as a working clock, unfortunately it never has and after playing with it, getting nowhere and leaving it for a year, I've come back to it again.

I've found a copy of the Installation Instructions and I believe I have set up the contacts etc. (push off, back stop and contact pieces), according to the gap given. Initially the clock would only run for about 4 minutes, however after careful oiling (with clock oil) of all the pivots, it now continues to run.

BUT (there's always a BUT!)

I am using a 12v sealed (gel) lead acid battery (fully charged) and have also checked the current, when at 0.22A that is not enough to lift the gravity lever to the latched position, so I am running with zero resistance.

However (another BUT) even on zero resistance this is not enough energy to always re-latch gravity lever, neither does it always pulse the slave clock.

So, my question is, what do I need to tinker with to get the "hefty thunk" that I have read is associated with this clock!

Cheers

Peter

Registered user.

Default Re: Gents Pulsynetic Master Clock - advice required (By: puffernutter)

There is a chance that the one or both coils are shorted inside.
    Also, check the starting position of the armature. If too far from
    the pole pieces it won't have enough pull to bring the armature
    close enough.