Goal: $300, Received: $360.00 (120%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 14,000 other NAWCC members for only $80 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

View Poll Results: How old are you?

Voters
106. You may not vote on this poll
  • Under 50

21 19.81%
  • 50-54

10 9.43%
  • 55-59

13 12.26%
  • 60-64

16 15.09%
  • 65-69

23 21.70%
  • 70-74

9 8.49%
  • 75-79

9 8.49%
  • 80 and over

5 4.72%
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Blog Entries

Default Average Age of an Horologist

I'm new to this, but I've come to the conclusion that Horology is an old man's sport. I attended a flea market at one of the clock supply houses this summer, and it surprised me that I was pretty nearly the youngest one there. Without revealing my age (Which is at least old enough to know better), Id' say most of the attendees were male and retired.

Are there any youngsters out there? Is this a dying species headed for extinction, or do you need to reach a certain age before acquiring an interest (which is sort of my story).

Just curious... Any thoughts?

Tom

Default Re: Average Age of an Horologist (By: gleber)

I do know of one young man in my area that trained for a couple of years under a Swiss clockmaker and is kind of savant in general knowledge of clocks, models and types of movements. He's ~14 years old.
    Living life at eight beats per minute.

Registered user.

Well we were all young once, I started at 16, I am now 60, and still younger than a lot of people I know in the trade, I don't think of it being an old person's game, I think watch and clockmakers seem to be longer lived that most.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Average Age of an Horologist (By: dAz57)

MartinM- That's awesome. Good for him. I'm jealous...

ASaz57 - Let's hope so!