PDA

View Full Version : More bogus auctions


Barry Parker
06-24-2003, 12:45 PM
Here's a couple more to watch.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2642572478
Compare with;
http://www.bogoff.com/pocket/5318.html

The clocks are also getting the same treatment.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2180952765
Compare with;
http://showcase.goantiques.com/search/images.jsp?id=86187

Barry Parker

Barry Parker
06-24-2003, 12:45 PM
Here's a couple more to watch.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2642572478
Compare with;
http://www.bogoff.com/pocket/5318.html

The clocks are also getting the same treatment.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2180952765
Compare with;
http://showcase.goantiques.com/search/images.jsp?id=86187

Barry Parker

Tom McIntyre
06-25-2003, 12:27 AM
Barry, how do you know the clock ad is not authentic? GoAntiques is a broker and the owner could be in Australia.

On the Bogoff watch, it is obvious of course.

Also on the Bogoff watch I think Steve may be mistaken about the stem winding. Since there appears to be a setting square on the hands, the watch looks to me to be a conversion to stem winding sometime after 1850.

Tom McIntyre
2nd VP Elect
Tommy the JOAT's Web (http://www.AWCo.org)

Greg Davis
06-25-2003, 12:58 AM
Tom,

Barry is correct. Though the seller claims to be from Australia, "Tanah Karo" (listed as the city) is in Indonesia. Note also that they only accept wire transfers. BO-GUS!

- Greg

150941
Ch.149 member #77

Jon Hanson
06-25-2003, 02:13 AM
The SB watch is SW--I have had several examples similar; don't be mislead by the "pusher!" :biggrin: :rolleyes: :wink:

Jon Hanson, nawcc#8801
Founder and President chapter 149, The Early American Watch Club

Ken M.
06-25-2003, 10:47 AM
On the watch, another seller with no feedback offering a unique watch. PT Barnam was right, one is born every minute. Interesting thing, if you take the sellers name "vregert" and reverse the e & t you get "regret"

Ken

Ralph
06-25-2003, 12:02 PM
Here's another

Bogus ebay Sale (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2180326370&category=3929)

Real owner (http://www.chelseaclocks.co.uk/antique_carriage_clocks.asp)

Ralph

Tom McIntyre
06-25-2003, 02:40 PM
Perhaps I should not malign Mr. Brinkman, but the presence of the winding mechanism in a spot where it could be easily added is a little suspicious to me.

Here is an example of Prest's keyless work on the 11th watch (http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA11/JRA11.htm) produced with the mechanism. The early examples were set with the fingers, not with a key.

http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA11/Movement_small.jpg (http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA11/Movement.jpg)

This is a more classic example on watch #30 (http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA30/JRA30.htm).

http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA30/Movement_small.jpg (http://www.awco.org/European/Arnold/JRA30/Movement.jpg)

Tom McIntyre
2nd VP Elect
Tommy the JOAT's Web (http://www.AWCo.org)

Barry Parker
06-26-2003, 09:39 AM
Re:-
Hi, do you try to let the bidders know about these sham auctions along with bringing it to the notice of ebay or does the maxim of buyer beware stand.
Best wishes to you all
Gordon from OZ
------------------------------------------------
Hi Gordon,
eBay has ceased allowing you to obtain email addresses by the old method, so it is difficult to contact bidders directly now.
Sometimes you can search, using the user ID..... to see if they also have items for sale, then use the "ask a seller a question" feature to make contact.
You can report an infringing item to eBay, but only the owner of the pics and descriptions can do anything about having the auction closed.
The actual owners of the intellectual property can report directly to eBay on;
<http://pages.ebay.com/help/community/vero-program.html>
I email these owners when I see such bogus auctions to let them know what is going on.
There is quite a few of them and the number appears to be growing.
All of these auctions have an Asian connection. It is not only watches they try to sell.
There are clocks, lamps, mirrors, musical instruments and electronic equipment.
Anyone who wants a list can email me at barry_parker@hotkey.net.au

The seller often uses the name of some obscure Indonesian town, together with the country as Australia in the location heading.

Barry Parker

Ralph
06-27-2003, 12:11 PM
If you want to contact someone, just click on their feedback and go to their feedback page. From there you can click their id and send a note through eBay's messaging system.

Ralph

Barry Parker
06-28-2003, 08:53 AM
Thanks for the tip Ralph.

Here's the latest bogus auction I have noted and told Steve about;

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2643562788&category=3940
Compare with;
http://www.bogoff.com/pocket/5027.html

Barry Parker

Barry Parker
06-28-2003, 10:46 AM
Excellent Pocket Watch from Girard Pirregaux anneeva-43( 78) is the winner.
anneeva-43 left negative feedback.
Seller ID vilvolin Location Asia Country United States
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3940&item=2638728849
Compare with;
http://www.bogoff.com/pocket/5259.html

Scottish 20K gold
Seller ID vilvolin Location Asia Country United States
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2643723956&category=3940
Compare with,
http://www.bogoff.com/pocket/5329.html

Barry Parker

Oliver Mundy
06-28-2003, 06:14 PM
I do wonder why the genuine vendors of these items do not protect themselves by applying a ‘watermark’ to each image - many photo-editing programs include this facility - or at least by writing or typesetting their names on the images so as to overlap the illustration without hiding any material detail. A few key-strokes on each image, costing nothing, could kill this type of fraud stone dead.

The Watch Cabinet (http://www.horologia.co.uk)

Kenny D
06-28-2003, 06:24 PM
Oliver,
I believe with a little artistic ability and a paint program this obstacle could easily be overcome.

Kenny