PDA

View Full Version : Case refinishing dilemma

harold bain
08-12-2007, 06:20 PM
I am trying to restore an IBM 1950's vintage master clock. It appears to have been exposed to weather extremes, possibly moisture. The original finish is flaking off at the bottom. I doubt that shellac was used. Do I have to strip it or can I fill in the missing finish?

Kevin W.
08-12-2007, 06:36 PM
Harold i am no expert here on finishing.Maybe a light rubbing with 0000 steel wool and then apply a few coats of shellac and see how it looks after. :thumb::thumb::clap:

clockdaddy
08-12-2007, 08:09 PM
... It appears to have been exposed to weather extremes, possibly moisture. ..The original finish is flaking off at the bottom. Do I have to strip it or can I fill in the missing finish?

Unfortunately, Harold, you will need to remove all of the finish and lishtly sand and refinish in order to have an even color.

Finishes are photochemically reactive and change color from ultra violet rays from the sun. The finish has darkened with age and matching the color, texture and aged look is a nightmare.

If you choose to scrape of the finish rather than chemically remove, the color will remain in tack and there will be little, if any, sanding. A good sharp scraper or a piece of glass can be used and will make short work of the project.

CD

Scottie-TX
08-12-2007, 08:51 PM
Alas, I know we're not voting but "DITTO".
"What th' C-DAD said"
I do know that many here will advise against scraping (my choice), but your preference. "Yes". It will need stripped.

harold bain
08-12-2007, 09:00 PM
I was hoping for an easier fix, but you are likely right. I have tried stain on a small part of the side, and while the color is close, it still is a noticable repair. It will need a combination of chemical strip and scraping, as the finish has a pretty good grip where it isn't peeling.
Forgot to mention, this is veneer. It was loose in a few areas as well.

Thyme
08-13-2007, 09:59 AM