PDA

View Full Version : repairing a quartz pocket watch

Crazy Horse
06-18-2007, 08:45 PM
I have a quartz pocket watch that is acting up.... stops when all hands are at 12......... also stops at other times or just loses time in large increments after running well for a time.

I really like the case and would like to replace the quartz movement, a Morioka Tokei pc21 with a nicer movement.

So far, I can't figure out how to remove the stem from the winding knob. How do you do it?

Next, will I need any special tools for removing the hands and placing them into a new movement?

I would like to upgrade to a better movement if possible.

The watch has a sweeping second hand and no date function.

As you can see.... I am totally new at this.

Is just replacing the entire inside including the dial an option? Would that be easier?

burnz
06-18-2007, 09:30 PM
A watch hand puller will remove the hands without damage or loss.

With the case back removed--look in the area where the stem comes through the case and into the movement. There should be an indication there of what to push to remove the stem. Remove the stem and crown as one piece. No need to separate them.

Crazy Horse
06-19-2007, 06:10 AM
I have looked at the back with a 60X hand held microscope and can't find any indication of a button to push. I've used a needle to try to push anything that looked like a botton.

I have found no screw heads that look like they are anywhere near the stem to hold it in place. The long stem itself looks like a spiral screw.

Would it screw in?

burnz
06-19-2007, 08:38 AM
Your quartz movement will not have a retaining screw. There will be an area to push that will release the stem from the movement.

See if there is an arrow pointing to an area or small button. Quartz movements are not all created equal when it comes to removing the stem. Many times one has to study it a while to find the right area.